Unacceptable Ingredients for Gluten-Free Diet

To maintain a gluten-free diet, you must be sure you’re avoiding all sources of gluten, which can be found in foods, health products (i.e. medicines) and beauty products (i.e. makeup, hair & skin products). Here’s a quick list of all the ways gluten may be listed in ingredients and recipes.  [Click Here for Print-Friendly Version]

Unacceptable Ingredient List*

  • Wheat (can be listed many ways:)
  • — Durum
  • — Graham
  • — Kamut
  • — Semolina
  • — Spelt
  • — Einkorn
  • — Faro
  • — Wheat Germ
  • — Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
  • — Wheat Protein(s)
  • — Wheat Germ Oil
  • — Wheatstraw
  • — Wheat Amino Acids
  • — Wheat Germ Glycerides
  • — AMP-Isostearoyl (Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein)
  • — Triticum Vulgare  (Can be followed by: Germ Extract, Germ Oil, Gluten or Starch)
  • — Bran
  • — Einkorn
  • — Emmer
  • Rye
  • Secale Cereale (Rye) Seed Flour
  • Barley
  • Oats (can be gluten-free, but due to growing and/or manufacturing practices oats are often cross-contaminated with gluten. You can find dedicated, gluten-free oats, such as Bob’s Red Mill)
  • Oat Kernel Flour (Avena Sativa)
  • Sodium PCA (Yeast Extract)
  • Dextrin (can be made from wheat)
  • Dextrin Palmitate
  • Cyclodextrin
  • Wheat Maltodextrin
  • Maltodextrin (can be made from other grains but unless it says specifically that it’s NOT from wheat, avoid to be safe)
  • Triticale
  • Tocopherol (can be from wheat… it was originally extracted from wheat, but is now mostly derived from vegetable sources, such as soy)
  • Tocopherol Acetate (see Tocopherol above)
  • Starch or Modified Food Starch (can be wheat or other, so avoid this unless it says specifically “corn” or a non-gluten item on this list)
  • Malt or Malt Flavoring
  • Hydrolyzed Malt Extract
  • Malt Vinegar
  • Carmel Color (often made from barley malt. *Note: Carmel color made from corn Citric Acid is acceptable for a GF Diet)
  • Beer (most beer is made from wheat, although there are Gluten-Free Beers on the market)
  • Ale
  • Lager
  • Brewer’s Yeast (some are acceptable, but it can be a byproduct of beer, which is most often wheat)
  • Yeast Extract

Check out these related other Gluten-Free Gluten posts:
Acceptable Ingredients for a Gluten-Free Diet
Caution Foods: Foods that MAY Contain Gluten

*This list is not guaranteed to be 100% complete or accurate. It should not be used as a substitute for advice from a licensed health-care provider. Please consult your physician, dietitian or other health-care provider for all health, medical and dietary matters.

Tags: , , , , ,

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. “Wheat-Free” Doesn’t Mean “Gluten-Free” : || : Gluten-Free Gluten - 09/05/2011

    […] of gluten and wheat is only one of them. (Rye, barley and oats are the other sources of gluten. Here’s a list of Unacceptable Ingredients that details some ways they may be listed.) The term “gluten-free” is currently […]

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  2. Caution Foods on a Gluten-Free Diet : || : Gluten-Free Gluten - 06/07/2011

    […] Gluten can lurk in many products that you’d never suspect! All processed foods and health & beauty items must be checked for gluten-containing ingredients. […]

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  3. Make Your Own Gluten-Free Book : || : Gluten-Free Gluten - 02/15/2011

    […] old favorite recipes. You just have to do a little more legwork to make sure it’s safe by avoiding all gluten-containing ingredients. (I had actually started doing this well before making this book… it was just too depressing […]

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  4. Acceptable Ingredients for Gluten-Free Diet | Gluten-Free Gluten - 12/08/2010

    […] Pure Spices (can contain silicon dioxide, but nothing from the Unacceptable Foods List) […]

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

Leave a Reply