Are Peeps Gluten Free?

Our 8-year-old son LOVES Peeps. Adores them! Personally, I don’t get the attraction. But every year (since I had to go gluten-free and we stopped bringing gluten into the house) he asks and I have to say no. Because a couple of years ago I did the research and found they were contaminated (shared equipment).

But this year when he asked (begged, really – I just don’t get it!), I took another look at the ingredients and was surprised to see “Gluten Free” right on the box! So I did some research and found that, yep, they must’ve changed their manufacturing practices because the Just Born (Peeps) website says that: “We offer many gluten-free products under the MIKE AND IKE®, HOT TAMALES®, PEEPS®, GOLDENBERG’S PEANUT CHEWS®, TEENEE BEANEE® and JUST BORN® brands and we are in the process of updating package labels to include gluten-free statements where appropriate.” And now they do!

The little man has already had, like, three boxes of Peeps. Yikes! But hey, they’re gluten-free. :)

 

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Are Peeps Gluten Free?”

  1. Russ 05/02/2014 at 8:36 PM #

    The peeps I have say may contain wheat.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  2. Kaylee 04/19/2014 at 7:14 PM #

    I was looking this up to see if I could have Peeps, and I have discovered from many sites that I can not. How ever, I too have seen a label at the store and it clearly states: Gluten Free. I am ten and I love Peeps. Thank you so much! This will help me this Easter! I know what it is like being Gluten Free since I had to change my diet suddenly when I was 9 years old. Thanks again!


    Kaylee

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 0

Leave a Reply to Russ