Gluten-Free Cheerios Recall

Boxes of Gluten Free Cheerios are being recalled because wheat flour was accidentally mixed in with the GF oat flour. One one hand, it’s awful that the contamination happened. On the other, it’s good that General Mills caught it and are recalling the potenatlly contaminated boxes. But it’s now Oct 6th.. and they’re just discovering this now (Perhaps because people were all getting sick?)! I don’t know about you, but I’m VERY hesitant to try GF Cheerios now or any time in the future. Large mixed facilities scare this super-sensitive celiac.

Here’s what they said:

General Mills is voluntarily recalling several days of production of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios cereal produced at its Lodi, California facility on certain dates in July of this year because of an undeclared allergen – wheat – with potential adverse health effects. Because this recall relates to an undeclared allergen, this is a Class I product recall.

Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios produced on these dates at the company’s Lodi, California facility are being recalled because an isolated incident resulted in wheat flour being inadvertently introduced into the gluten free oat flour system at its Lodi facility. As a result, the products may contain an undeclared allergen – wheat – in products labeled as gluten-free.

General Mills will recall and retrieve affected cereals produced on those dates from customer warehouses and store shelves. Consumers with wheat allergies, celiac disease or gluten intolerance should not consume products bearing the affected code dates and should contact General Mills for a replacement or full refund.

This voluntary recall includes four days production of original (yellow box) Cheerios, and thirteen days of production of Honey Nut Cheerios at its Lodi, California facility with the following “BETTER IF USED BY” code dates and the plant code LD which indicates the product was produced at Lodi, California:

Honey Nut Cheerios Honey Nut Cheerios Honey Nut Cheerios Yellow Box Cheerios
16JUL2016LD 17JUL2016LD
22JUL2016LD 23JUL2016LD
25JUL2016LD 14JUL2016LD
Products containing wheat can cause illness or severe reactions for individuals with wheat allergies or celiac disease. Products containing wheat can also cause illness or discomfort for individuals with gluten intolerance.

General Mills is transitioning five varieties of Cheerios to gluten free. Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios cereals produced at General Mills’ other facilities, or on dates other than those noted at the Lodi, California facility, are not impacted. General Mills’ other gluten-free Cheerios varieties – including Apple Cinnamon Cheerios, Frosted Cheerios and MultiGrain Cheerios – are not impacted and are not being recalled. No other General Mills cereals are affected.

Consumers requesting refunds or calling with further questions should contact General Mills Consumer Services at 1-800-775-8370.

Tags: ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply