Caution Foods on a Gluten-Free Diet

Gluten can lurk in many products that you’d never suspect! All processed foods and health & beauty items must be checked for gluten-containing ingredients.

Here’s a quick list of some products that may contain gluten:

  • Vanilla
  • Oats
  • Bulk Foods
  • Maltodextrin
  • Communion Wafers
  • Sodas with Carmel Colors
  • Nuts (Seasoned or roasted nuts can have wheat in them, which can cause cross-contamination with plain nuts as well)
  • Nut Butters
  • Soy Milk (if flavored, can have wheat)
  • Brown Rice Syrup
  • Breading and Coating Mixes (including Panko)
  • Buckwheat (this is sometimes mixed with wheat flour, so always check the label. When in doubt, go without!)
  • Kasha
  • Candy (you’d be amazed where gluten can be found!)
  • Pastas
  • Broth
  • Soup
  • Beer, Ale, Lager (unless specifically labeled “gluten-free”)
  • Cheese (shredded or flavored cheeses may have wheat ingredients)
  • Cheese Sauces
  • Cheese Spreads
  • Oats (unless they’re guaranteed gluten-free most oats are NOT gluten-free!!¬†They must be specifically labeled “Gluten-Free”, guaranteed to have been grown without proximity to wheat and processed in dedicated facility.)
  • Dried Fruits (often dusted with Oat flour)
  • Basmati Rice (check labels for gluten ingredients in flavorings)
  • Jasmine Rice (I use this all the time and haven’t had a problem, but check labels for gluten ingredients in flavorings)

NOTE: Cross-contamination can occur in any gluten-free product that is grown, processed, manufactured, transported and/or packaged on/with equipment that also processed gluten-containing products. Check labels for warnings such as “Processed on equipment that also processed wheat” or “Packaged in a facility that processes wheat”

Check out these related other Gluten-Free Gluten posts:
Acceptable Ingredients for a Gluten-Free Diet
Unacceptable Ingredients for a Gluten-Free Diet

Tags: , , , , ,

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Unacceptable Ingredients for Gluten-Free Diet : || : Gluten-Free Gluten - 07/06/2011

    […] Check out these related other Gluten-Free Gluten posts: Acceptable Ingredients for a Gluten-Free Diet Caution Foods: Foods that MAY Contain Gluten […]

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  2. Acceptable Ingredients for Gluten-Free Diet | Gluten-Free Gluten - 12/08/2010

    […] Check out these related other Gluten-Free Gluten posts: Unacceptable Ingredients for a Gluten-Free Diet Caution Foods: Foods that MAY Contain Gluten […]

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

Leave a Reply