Gluten Free Foods List

Acceptable Foods for a Gluten-Free Diet

Last modified on 2011-07-06 17:58:14 GMT. 1 comment. Top.

This gluten-free foods list, while far from complete, should serve as a great jump start your gluten-free diet. (Or a quick way to double check to be sure your current GF diet is on track).
[Click here for this and other free downloadable Gluten-Free documents]

*Acceptable Gluten-Free Foods*

  • Rice (unflavored. Seasonings in pre-packaged rice dishes can contain gluten)
  • Brown Rice (unflavored)
  • Corn
  • Cornstarch
  • Corn Flour
  • Cornmeal (if pure and not mixed with any other flour)
  • Corn Grits
  • Potato
  • Soy
  • Beans
  • Tapioca
  • Millet
  • Millet Flour
  • Arrowroot
  • Sorghum
  • Flax
  • Quinoa
  • Quinoa Flour
  • Nut Flours
  • Amaranth
  • Teff
  • Montina
  • Garfava
  • Dextrin made from Corn, Rice, Potatoes, Arrowroot or Tapioca (can be made from wheat, so if in doubt, go without!)
  • Pure Spices (can contain silicon dioxide, but nothing from the Unacceptable Foods List)
  • Distilled vinegar: Although made from wheat, the distillation process removes the gluten peptide (Malt Vinegar is NOT gluten-free)
  • Carob
  • Eggs
  • Nuts, Plain (some nuts can be cross-contaminated or flavored with wheat-based ingredients)
  • Nut Flours
  • Seeds
  • Seed Flour
  • Fresh and Frozen Veggies
  • Pure Vegetable Juice (if flavored, check ingredients)
  • Fresh Fruit (Dried Fruit can be dusted with Oat Flour or processed on shared equipment)
  • Pure Fruit Juice (if flavored, check ingredients)
  • Fresh Meat (make sure it’s plain, un-marinated, un-seasoned and not injected or basted with gluten-containing product)
  • Fresh Poultry (same as Meat above, check ingredients if not plain)
  • Coffee and Tea (plain… if flavored, check ingredients)
  • Milk
  • Buttermilk
  • Cream
  • Tofu

Here are some foods that MAY be gluten-free if processed correctly. They MUST be marked with a special “gluten-free” label to be considered safe (and even then.. you never know. Check growing and  manufacturing practices directly with manufacturer before consuming).

The best way to be sure your food is gluten-free is to check the ingredients on the package. I’ve made a list of ingredients that you should check for every time you purchase a food. Recipes and ingredients change often and without warning, so it’s a great habit to get into early. It can save you aggravation and gluten-induced symptoms later. Here’s a handy list I’ve compiled of all the Unacceptable Ingredients for a Gluten-Free Diet

Food that MAY Be Safe for a Gluten-Free Diet (check labels!):

  • Buckwheat (Buckwheat is not a form of Wheat and does not naturally contain gluten. However, buckwheat is often mixed with wheat flour, so always check the label. When in doubt, go without!)
  • Cheese (plain, unflavored, not shredded)
  • Oats (as long as guaranteed gluten-free. Most oats are NOT gluten-free!!)

NOTE: Even products that are specifically labeled “gluten-free” can actually contain gluten. Cross-contamination can occur in any gluten-free product that is grown, processed, manufactured, transported and/or packaged on/with equipment that also processed gluten-containing products. Check labels for warnings such as “Processed on equipment that also processed wheat” or “Packaged in a facility that processes wheat”

Check out these related other Gluten-Free Gluten posts:
Unacceptable Ingredients for a Gluten-Free Diet
Caution Foods: Foods that MAY Contain Gluten

*This gluten-free foods list is not guaranteed to be 100% complete or accurate. It should not be used as a substitute for advice from a licensed health-care provider. Please consult your physician, dietitian or other health-care provider for all health, medical and dietary matters.



Unacceptable Ingredients for Gluten-Free Diet

Last modified on 2011-07-06 17:58:14 GMT. 4 comments. Top.

To maintain a gluten-free diet, you must be sure you’re avoiding all sources of gluten, which can be found in foods, health products (i.e. medicines) and beauty products (i.e. makeup, hair & skin products). Here’s a quick list of all the ways gluten may be listed in ingredients and recipes.  [Click Here for Print-Friendly Version]

Unacceptable Ingredient List*

  • Wheat (can be listed many ways:)
  • — Durum
  • — Graham
  • — Kamut
  • — Semolina
  • — Spelt
  • — Einkorn
  • — Faro
  • — Wheat Germ
  • — Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
  • — Wheat Protein(s)
  • — Wheat Germ Oil
  • — Wheatstraw
  • — Wheat Amino Acids
  • — Wheat Germ Glycerides
  • — AMP-Isostearoyl (Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein)
  • — Triticum Vulgare  (Can be followed by: Germ Extract, Germ Oil, Gluten or Starch)
  • — Bran
  • — Einkorn
  • — Emmer
  • Rye
  • Secale Cereale (Rye) Seed Flour
  • Barley
  • Oats (can be gluten-free, but due to growing and/or manufacturing practices oats are often cross-contaminated with gluten. You can find dedicated, gluten-free oats, such as Bob’s Red Mill)
  • Oat Kernel Flour (Avena Sativa)
  • Sodium PCA (Yeast Extract)
  • Dextrin (can be made from wheat)
  • Dextrin Palmitate
  • Cyclodextrin
  • Wheat Maltodextrin
  • Maltodextrin (can be made from other grains but unless it says specifically that it’s NOT from wheat, avoid to be safe)
  • Triticale
  • Tocopherol (can be from wheat… it was originally extracted from wheat, but is now mostly derived from vegetable sources, such as soy)
  • Tocopherol Acetate (see Tocopherol above)
  • Starch or Modified Food Starch (can be wheat or other, so avoid this unless it says specifically “corn” or a non-gluten item on this list)
  • Malt or Malt Flavoring
  • Hydrolyzed Malt Extract
  • Malt Vinegar
  • Carmel Color (often made from barley malt. *Note: Carmel color made from corn Citric Acid is acceptable for a GF Diet)
  • Beer (most beer is made from wheat, although there are Gluten-Free Beers on the market)
  • Ale
  • Lager
  • Brewer’s Yeast (some are acceptable, but it can be a byproduct of beer, which is most often wheat)
  • Yeast Extract

Check out these related other Gluten-Free Gluten posts:
Acceptable Ingredients for a Gluten-Free Diet
Caution Foods: Foods that MAY Contain Gluten

*This list is not guaranteed to be 100% complete or accurate. It should not be used as a substitute for advice from a licensed health-care provider. Please consult your physician, dietitian or other health-care provider for all health, medical and dietary matters.

3 Responses to “Gluten Free Foods List”

  1. pianojan 01/22/2012 at 4:12 AM #

    I didn’t notice soy sauce on the list of unacceptable ingredients. It is some of the salad dressings too.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  2. Rebecca Curz 02/15/2011 at 9:32 AM #

    Keep working ,great job!

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  3. Anonymous 12/28/2010 at 8:04 AM #

    Great Blog ! Regards.

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

Leave a Reply to Rebecca Curz