Acceptable Foods for a Gluten-Free Diet

This gluten-free foods list, while far from complete, should serve as a great jump start your gluten-free diet. (Or a quick way to double check to be sure your current GF diet is on track).
[Click here for this and other free downloadable Gluten-Free documents]

*Acceptable Gluten-Free Foods*

  • Rice (unflavored. Seasonings in pre-packaged rice dishes can contain gluten)
  • Brown Rice (unflavored)
  • Corn
  • Cornstarch
  • Corn Flour
  • Cornmeal (if pure and not mixed with any other flour)
  • Corn Grits
  • Potato
  • Soy
  • Beans
  • Tapioca
  • Millet
  • Millet Flour
  • Arrowroot
  • Sorghum
  • Flax
  • Quinoa
  • Quinoa Flour
  • Nut Flours
  • Amaranth
  • Teff
  • Montina
  • Garfava
  • Dextrin made from Corn, Rice, Potatoes, Arrowroot or Tapioca (can be made from wheat, so if in doubt, go without!)
  • Pure Spices (can contain silicon dioxide, but nothing from the Unacceptable Foods List)
  • Distilled vinegar: Although made from wheat, the distillation process removes the gluten peptide (Malt Vinegar is NOT gluten-free)
  • Carob
  • Eggs
  • Nuts, Plain (some nuts can be cross-contaminated or flavored with wheat-based ingredients)
  • Nut Flours
  • Seeds
  • Seed Flour
  • Fresh and Frozen Veggies
  • Pure Vegetable Juice (if flavored, check ingredients)
  • Fresh Fruit (Dried Fruit can be dusted with Oat Flour or processed on shared equipment)
  • Pure Fruit Juice (if flavored, check ingredients)
  • Fresh Meat (make sure it’s plain, un-marinated, un-seasoned and not injected or basted with gluten-containing product)
  • Fresh Poultry (same as Meat above, check ingredients if not plain)
  • Coffee and Tea (plain… if flavored, check ingredients)
  • Milk
  • Buttermilk
  • Cream
  • Tofu

Here are some foods that MAY be gluten-free if processed correctly. They MUST be marked with a special “gluten-free” label to be considered safe (and even then.. you never know. Check growing and ¬†manufacturing practices directly with manufacturer before consuming).

The best way to be sure your food is gluten-free is to check the ingredients on the package. I’ve made a list of ingredients that you should check for every time you purchase a food. Recipes and ingredients change often and without warning, so it’s a great habit to get into early. It can save you aggravation and gluten-induced symptoms later. Here’s a handy list I’ve compiled of all the Unacceptable Ingredients for a Gluten-Free Diet

Food that MAY Be Safe for a Gluten-Free Diet (check labels!):

  • Buckwheat (Buckwheat is not a form of Wheat and does not naturally contain gluten. However, buckwheat is often mixed with wheat flour, so always check the label. When in doubt, go without!)
  • Cheese (plain, unflavored, not shredded)
  • Oats (as long as guaranteed gluten-free. Most oats are NOT gluten-free!!)

NOTE: Even products that are specifically labeled “gluten-free” can actually contain gluten. Cross-contamination can occur in any gluten-free product that is grown, processed, manufactured, transported and/or packaged on/with equipment that also processed gluten-containing products. Check labels for warnings such as “Processed on equipment that also processed wheat” or “Packaged in a facility that processes wheat”

Check out these related other Gluten-Free Gluten posts:
Unacceptable Ingredients for a Gluten-Free Diet
Caution Foods: Foods that MAY Contain Gluten

*This gluten-free foods list is not guaranteed to be 100% complete or accurate. It should not be used as a substitute for advice from a licensed health-care provider. Please consult your physician, dietitian or other health-care provider for all health, medical and dietary matters.

Tags: , , , , ,

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Unacceptable Ingredients for Gluten-Free Diet | Gluten-Free Gluten - 12/10/2010

    […] out these related other Gluten-Free Gluten posts: Acceptable Ingredients for a Gluten-Free Diet Caution Foods: Foods that MAY Contain […]

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

Leave a Reply